Do Not Go Into Flight or Fight Mode In Interviews

This physiological reaction will not help your chances during an interview with a hiring manager. It is actually one pet peeve that I have a tendency to sniff out in the first nanoseconds of speaking with you.

Sure, I get it that you are nervous. Sometimes, those “nerves” are endearing to me. It shows that you really want to work on my team or for my company. Without you knowing, I have already tried to help you in overcoming these nerves, by a quick phone screen before meeting in person. I’ve already assessed that you might be an awesome fit, now I just want to get to know if my “recruiter gut” was right with a more in depth conversation.

Prior to your in person interview, go through some self-discovery. Practice and prepare. When you are in flight or fight mode during your interview, I will notice your blood pressure increasing, voice is shaky and a reduction in being a cultural fit that I desire. I encourage meditation and envisioning you being the best YOU in an interview prior to that video chat or in person interview. That way, you’re not running out of the room terrified before I am done with you 😉

Video interviews save me time and money. They are my favorite and have been since (I think) early 2000s! I am super comfortable with all sorts and will tailor to you, the candidate. But, you have to do your homework first. Be careful of your background. I do not want a repeat of Candidate A. He was in his pajamas, laying in bed, with an inappropriate Jenna Jameson poster. If you don’t know who she is, please Google her.

If you don’t know how to use the technology that is agreed upon for video interviewing (Skype, Zoom, FaceTime, Google Hangout, RingCentral, whatever) don’t ask me to teach you. Go on YouTube, watch a few tutorials and get accustomed to it. You are initiating to me at a specific time. Please do not call me 15mins ahead of time to practice or to show you how to use FaceTime. You want to come work for a tech company, please know technology. We are global and use video conferencing all day long. Study.

Here is a true example with flight or fight in a video interview. Candidate B agreed to using Google Hangout for his interview. I sent an interview prep guide highlighting every topic to be discussed, overkill on how to join me at a specific time in Google Hangout, etc etc etc.

“B” apologized for being late 8mins due to not knowing how to click the link provided. Ugh. Not a good first impression and I’m on guard that B won’t be able to use our proprietary technology. Side note- do not apply to a world class tech company if you don’t know how to use simple software packages.

Now his ego gets in the way that he is comfortable with technology, just not this one. I set my emotions aside and inquire about his homework on our company. Remember that prep email guide that was sent? Simple questions about the first page of our website and overall what he knows about it. His answer you ask? “Well that’s what you are here for. What is your website?” Just get me out of here at this point. My blood pressure is rising.

My flight or fight kicks in and I promptly let B know that it isn’t a good fit for now. At this point, hanging up is my way of coming to the conclusion that no matter how much prep I give candidates, some are just not a fit for my needs. If you are a candidate, please understand what level of performance is asked of you for interviews and job success. That way, I can show you what your Year 1 success will look like. Time to go! 😉

Happy Fri-YAY everyone!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Do Not Go Into Flight or Fight Mode In Interviews

Leave a Reply

